The old stomping ground

Last night saw me return to an old stomping ground, Inverkeithing High School.

Work took me there to attend Inverkeithing High’s careers fair. I arrived rather early as I’d been at a meeting in the afternoon and so I headed straight to the school after the meeting.

I set up my stand and decided to take a walk around the familiar halls.

image

Looking to Top and Bottom Bridge from Home Economics Corridor

image

Looking to Top and Bottom Bridge from Science Corridor

image

Level 2 Art Corridor

image

Dining Hall 3 (Stodge Bar)

image

History

image

Computing

image

Maths

image

Home Economics

image

English

In some ways nothing much has changed, with the exception of a few little amendments here and there, but what really struck me is how small my school felt. Nevertheless, I felt a sense of warmth, felt like I was meeting with an old friend.

I  was never the smartest kid in school, I neither loved or hated school, it was just a part of life. Returning to the  school though, I felt proud that this place was part of my history.

That evening I was saddened to hear that my Rector, Mr Roy, has been diagnosed with Parkinson’s. Terrible news about a great man who was dedicated to the school. 

Leave a Reply

