London Baby!

Every year I try to get down to London. I’m a city girl at heart, and although Edinburgh is a city, it is too small for my liking. I need to go to London to get a proper city fix.

A couple of weeks ago we left early Friday to maximise our time in London. In fact we almost didn’t make it at all. Despite giving enough time to get through security, Edinburgh Airport have changed things around and it is now carnage. We had to run for the gate but thankful managed to catch our flight.

We made use of our Virgin Money Lounge in central London to store our luggage, have a quick drink and sew a button back on my cardigan then headed straight out into all that London has to offer.

We had pre-exchanged Tesco vouchers for entry into a couple of visitor attractions and our first port of call was St Paul’s Cathedral.

I’d wanted to visit here for quite a while but always felt a bit strange having to pay to get into a church. I now see that St Paul’s is actually worth paying entry for. There was heaps to see and you are left to your own devices to wander around and take it all in. I was particularly blown away by seeing the tomb for Nelson in the crypt. We climbed from the bottom of the cathedral to the top and enjoyed the fabulous views of the city.

image

And the views back down to the floor (which made me feel a bit ill)

image

Back on the ground floor we caught a couple of songs being sung by a choir.

Our next visit on the list was Temple Church.  Rod has long been intrigued by this place and wanted to visit. On our last trip to London the church was closed, but we got lucky this time. It is an interesting little place.

image

image

Neither of us are religious, but I enjoy visiting places of religion. I find them fascinating. However, two churches in one day was quite enough and we went off for some general wanderings in London. I love just wandering … existing in a place.

image

Saturday saw Rod heading off to Milton Keynes for Rugby World Cup training (he is one of the volunteers) so I headed to Islington to do a spot of yarn shopping.

image

Rod rarely has interest in going to art galleries and museums so I took this opportunity to visit my favourite museum, the V&A.

image

image

image

One of my favourite galleries is the glass gallery.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

My favourite thing in the V&A is not an exhibit as such, but a few words that make me feel very rich.

image

How lucky we are as a nation to have access to so many amazing treasures.

Sunday we enjoyed exploring a favourite area, Greenwich.

image

image

We made sure to buy a few Ethiopian samosas from the market then went off to explore a new area, Brixton.

Monday was our final day. We used more Tesco vouchers to escape from the rain and visit the Churchill War Rooms. Lots of very interesting things to see.

image

image

We returned to daylight and the rain had stopped so we had some final wanderings.

We briefly went into the British Museum where I discovered there was an Aboriginal exhibition on. How I wish I’d known that. I’m not sure I’ll make it to London before the temporary exhibition closes, but I caught a mini exhibition displaying Larrakitj  (funeral poles).

image

image

My big city fix met, it was time to head to the airport. Next stop home.

image

image

6 thoughts on “London Baby!

  1. Really great photos. I love your eye for details, especially love the B&W panoramic picture of London. That is also a lot of activities you packed in a few days, Greenwich & Islington being some of my fav places to go in London too.

    Like

  2. I loved reading this – I happened upon it when I was in London for a brief visit (from Northumberland) because you’d been kind enough to “like” my blog. I was lucky enough to get to see the Aboriginal exhibition at the BM (I do recommend it because it was fantastic, but quite disturbing too) and I’m so inspired by what you’ve written for my next trip south. The V & A glass gallery looks wonderful, and I’ve never been to Greenwich (despite having living in London on and off during my life). Thank you so much for so many ideas. Now off to write up my London trip for my blog….a bit more shopping and less galleries than you 😦

    Like

    • I’m glad I managed to give you a few tips for your most recent visit to London and the next visit following that. London is a wonderful place, full of delights. Every time I visit London I usually see at least one new thing. Very unlikely I’ll manage to get to the Aboriginal exhibition, but pleased you were able to go. I look forward to following your blog further.

      Like

Leave a Reply

