Socks

I recently completed my third ever pair of hand knit socks and I am very pleased with them.

They are certainly an improvement on when I started knitting socks. My first attempt was a recommended pattern, Spice Man and some inherited plain blue sock yarn. I had double pointed needles, cast on and knit. So far so good … except it wasn’t good. I had a terrible ladder up each side of the socks. I bought a couple of circular needles and continued. Yes, there was an improvement, but I was still left with the original ugly ladders. I put the sock down and stopped. My heart wasn’t in this project. I went on to knit other things. I eventually frogged that sad little partial sock and was given a great tip – knit socks you really want to. I realised that I wasn’t fond of the yarn so had no desire to try and knit those socks again. I passed the yarn on to somebody else. The pattern is still useful in that it has good basic measurements for knitting socks that I’m told can be adapted to many sock patterns.

My next attempt was a wonderful match of pattern and yarn. I LOVED the yarn, the pattern was a delight to knit. Finally, I had a pair of socks. They are a little on the tight side, but nonetheless I am pleased.

My next sock attempt was a pattern test. My first ever pattern test. I powered through whilst on holiday. I faced constant distractions and made many mistakes. The yarn wasn’t quite right for the project – the socks were tight and the yarn had very little give.

The next pair of socks were made from a yarn I bought from a dyer in the US. I fell in love with its name – World Map. I went for a pattern that was the perfect match. Every colour change was to be purled. I purled the green so the socks became a topographical map.

image

The colour changes were quite subtle and so it was quite hard to sometimes see where I needed to switch stitch. I love the idea of the pattern and yarn, but if I were to do a project like this again I’d want more obvious colour changes and I’d probably use a different plain sock pattern and just adopt the purled colour change into that particular pattern.

This leads me to my latest finished socks.

image

They’re still not quite perfect, but I am still very pleased with the end result. I bought the yarn at the very first Indie Burgh Yarn Crawl. I loved the colours and they reminded me a little of those images of cherry blossom on a pale blue background. The colours are actually to represent Ginger Twist Studio, Be Inspired Fibres and Kathy’s Knits. I decided the yarn should become socks, and then I found a pattern for tabi socks. Yes, yarn and pattern are a fabulously pleasing combination.

This pattern had and easy to remember pattern repeat and they were quick to knit.

I’m almost too scared to wear the final result. They seem too pretty to wear or hide in shoes. I’ll get over that 😄

I’m now onto knitting pair of socks number four. I found a sweet little pattern specifically created for those 50g skeins of Koigu.

image

image

The pattern is easy enough to remember, the yarn is pretty, but I’m not sure any socks will ever be as great as my cute little tabis.

4 thoughts on “Socks

  1. It’s great that you found your way with socks! If I remember rightly, I knit 9 individual socks before I got my first decent wearable pair. You were absolutely right to move to yarn and a pattern that inspired you. Perhaps SpiceKids would have been a better recommendation for your tiny feet, but SpiceMan will be the perfect pattern for the first pair you make for Rod!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll definitely make those socks. It really wasn’t the pattern but rather just the yarn that didn’t inspire me. Now that I’ve made a few pairs I’d probably be fine with the plain yarn too 😄

      Like

  2. I do like these sox – particularly love the map socks, and would love to have seen a pic of them completed. Such a great idea. Happy knitting with the next lot of socks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

