Happy Birthday To Me

Another year older, another year wiser? I’m not so sure. I still wonder what I’m going to be when I grow up and who on earth gave me any responsibility.

This year’s birthday celebrations started off the night before my birthday with a night at the Dakota Hotel off the M8. Perhaps not a destination of any great excitement, but we have a friend who works there and did us a deal.

Dakota hotels are not the most beautiful to look at from the outside, but they are lovely inside. We were also greeted with an extra little surprise in our room.

image

As we were rather in the middle of nowhere we decided to eat in the hotel. I can highly recommend Dakota for cocktails and a meal. Food and drinks were amazing.

I always feel that my birthday is not just a celebration for me but also my parents so I never venture too far from home on my birthday. This year we went for a drive around the Clyde Valley taking in the beautiful views.

The evening of my birthday was spent in the company of Rod and my parents and followed the usual formula – Chinese takeaway, presents and cake. As always I have been spoilt.

A completely different end to my birthday this year though. This year I was whisked over the border to England by Rod. For the first time since I lived in England I spent my birthday in the land of my birth.

We enjoyed a few nights in Wilmslow  (yes, again). Last year we took out National Trust membership. Many of their properties are closed over winter and are just starting to open up again so we thought it would be a good idea to start chalking up some visits. We made it to Lyme Park, Dunham Massey and Old Rufford Hall, all quite different attractions but all very beautiful and interesting. Dunham Massey was a particular favourite. The house was used as a military hospital during WW1 and as part of your visit you are transported back in time as actors reenact scenes that might have been back in the day. It was very cleverly done.

Rod has been saying for ages that he wanted to go to Altrincham Market. The last time we were down the market was closed as there had been a fire, but now it is fully open so we planned a visit. The market hall has been transformed into a place to eat, drink and relax. We had a fabulous breakfast there. If you are ever in the area you MUST go.

image

What I particularly liked about the food offerings is that every outlet was different. No one outlet really seemed to be competing and they all complemented each other.

Bellies full, we were ready to face the market. Each week there is a different theme, this week it was household goods. There were lots of lovely things for sale, but in particular we fell in love with an old shoe locker. Wooden and painted with many layers of green paint, it has a charm about it. It’s rather tired and worn but still in good working order. I like to think maybe it was once in a rugby club somewhere. Well, now it lives in our bathroom and finally we have somewhere a bit more practical to store our towels.

The birthday celebrations are over for another year, and I feel like a very lucky girl.

Leave a comment